Rice Cooker Fiesta Mexican Rice


  

Recently, I added a rice cooker to my collection of useful kitchen appliances. I didn’t spend much, in fact, this little guy was under $20.00. Not sure if It would end up in the appliance graveyard or a much appreciated purchase, I was reluctant to leave us eating hotdogs and pasta for the week so, I bought the second cheapest model.

To my great surprise, I am in love with my rice cooker! Like a crock pot, this is a busy mom’s dream! Fill it and forget about it. Perfect rice in about 30 minutes. 

Unfortunately, I have not found many rice cooker recipes that impress me. So, today, after spending too much time browsing the internet for a tasty Mexican Rice recipe to serve for a Fiesta night, I made my own.

Slice a lime and crack open a Corona, this recipe deserves a toast!

Note: Recipes Yields about 6 cups cooked.

All the goodies for our recipe

 

Ingredients

1 Cup white uncooked rice
EVOO
1 med onion diced
2 cloves garlic diced
1 Can (about 15 oz) of diced tomatoes (I used fired roasted)
1 small can of diced green chilies
1 Can of beans (about 15 oz) drained and rinsed (pinto or black beans are perfect)
1 Cup chicken broth (use vegetable broth for a vegetarian recipe)
1 Cup of corn (I used a leftover ear of grilled corn removed from cob, adds great flavor, but frozen would be fine)
2 tsp ground Cumin
1 tsp of Smoked Hot Paprika (if you do not have, substitute with cayenne)
1/2 tsp dried Oregano

Directions:

In a frying pan, brown rice in EVOO to make it toasty. This is what adds the nutty flavor to traditional Mexican rice. Add onions and garlic, stirring often until onions are beginning to turn translucent.

Your rice should turn golden brown, and the onions should become translucent

 

 Lightly spray inner part of rice cooker with cooking spray and add rice/onion mixture. Combine remaining ingredients, set cooker to cook.

Add all ingredients into Rice Cooker....Whoa, careful, this baby sure is full!

 

 

 When cooker turns to warm setting, give a stir and return cover. Let stand for another 10 minutes.

Look at that fluffy spicy goodness...Ole I say

 

Serve with fresh cilantro and sour cream or shredded cheese if desired.

9 responses to “Rice Cooker Fiesta Mexican Rice

  1. This looks great…I love my rice cooker!

  2. thesaltedtomato

    I loved our rice cooker too…but it broke, and we are back to cooking rice on the stove.

    This looks great! I make something very similiar…you’ve inspired me to make it this week, despite the heat. Yum!

  3. {Main St. Cuisine}

    Sherrie,
    I’m digging my rice cooker out to make this. I generally use ours to make fried rice, so you’ve inspired me to try something different. I’d have to leave out the smoked paprika or cayenne, but I’m hoping the green chiles, oregano and cumin will give it some good flavor.
    Allison

  4. fantastic, loved it! I make this all the time now, thank you!

  5. Who knew you could make an entire meal in a rice cooker?! This recipe is great. I had to cook in two batches as I was unable to fit it all at once. I also had to add about 1/2 C more stock because my rice did not cook thoroughly.

    • So Glad you gave the recipe a try! Thanks for the tip about adding more stock. I believe that the ratio’s may have to be adjusted according you your brand of rice cooker as mine must be larger. Happy Cookin!

  6. making now – I think the hubs will be happy!

Leave a comment