Chipotle Chicken Chili


Smokey Chipotle Peppers add a kick to this cold weather chilli

Got chili on the mind? Seems that it’s been on the mind of my friends and coworkers lately. I’ve been getting many request for an exciting recipe for our favorite spicy stew. Truth is, I’ve never made chili without calling mom and having her remind me how she makes hers. A basic mixture of ground beef, tomatoes, beans and seasoning. This has always been a perfectly acceptable recipe, I am sure, similar to what many of us have grown up on, with some variations.

Oh how the variations differ! One friend of mine, Kerri, puts macaroni in her chili. She still makes it like her mom who had 8 children to feed (genius I say), and another co-blogger Frazzeledfoodie, has an amazing family recipe that is served over rice. Others enjoy vegetarian chilis, chicken chilis and I even saw a recipe for lamb chili! Seems we enjoy our bowls of rich and spicy goodness many different ways.

After scouring through my cookbooks, researching online and visiting many blogs, I found a recipe that had the flavors I was craving, and was also interesting as the peppers and onions were grilled before chopping, creating another element of flavor. I made my own adjustments, alas, a recipe worthy of sharing.

Note: I opted to grill my chicken breast first. It was coated with a bit of EVOO, cumin, salt and pepper. The Red sweet peppers, onion, jalapeno, and garlic cloves were grilled too before chopping up for chili. I simply cut into 2-3 inch pieces (leaving jalapeno and garlic whole), placed in a bowl, tossed with EVOO, salt and pepper and placed directly on a preheated grill. Keep the garlic on a piece of foil to avoid falling through the grates. Grill untill slightly charred. Cool all before chopping.

Ingredients for Chili
3 heaping cups of shredded chicken (prepared however you wish, I recommend grilling)
1 24 oz jar Great Northern Beans
1 Cup chopped onion
3/4 Cup Sweet Red Pepper
1/2-1 jalapeno (depending on size and personal taste)
2 Chipotle peppers from can with Adobo Sauce, seeded and diced
3 tsp of the Adobo Sauce the Chipotle Peppers are packed in
4-5 garlic cloves minced
3 Cups Chicken Broth
1 15 oz Can diced tomatoes
2 TBS Tomato paste (I finally bought one of those tubes so I didn’t have to open the whole can)
2 TBS Mexican Chili powder (or regular is fine)
2 TBS Cumin
1 TBS Oregano

Garnish Optional:Cilantro, Sour Cream, Diced Avocado

Combine all ingredients in a stock pot, bring to a low boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer at least an hour. The longer chili simmers, the better is always is. This recipe can easily be put into a crock pot on low and cooked all day or on high for shorter cooking time. As with all chili, it’s even better the next day.

Leave a Reply

