Easy Vegtable Fried Rice


Not too long ago, I found an electric wok, hardly ever used and great quality at my local 2nd hand store. The price was a steal for the brand and condition. I did not want to become like my wok’s previous owner and neglect to appreciate it’s culinary genius. As I already had some beautiful red, green and yellow sweet peppers cut up in the refrigerator and carrot sticks from lasts nights vegetable tray, I was focused on making sure they would be the star in tonight’s dinner as produce like this should not be forgotten and let to turn into a science project. I had planned to use leftover chicken I had also grilled for last nights dinner (made extra, or so I thought), but my boys had already used it to make more Balsamic Chicken Wraps. So vegetarian we go! No disappointment to me, or my boys.

I had to do some research online, as using a wok of any sort is very new to me. I learned quickly that one must have all of their ingredients ready to add as the cooking process happens quickly. I also learned that fried rice is best with leftover rice about 2-3 days old. Shucks…I hadn’t planned for that! Luckily, I found a site that gave a tip if you didn’t have leftover rice and were making it fresh. After rice is cooked, spread on a large cookie sheet and put into freezer for about 30 minutes. It not only cools the rice, but helps it dry out. I have found out that the dryer you rice is the better for this dish. I did, however, find that after 15 minutes, I mixed and re-spread the rice as the corners were freezing and the middle still hadn’t lost its moisture.

So, rice is working, giving me plenty of time to re-consult the internet and to prep my veggies. On 1 plate I have sliced red, yellow and green sweet peppers. This was easy as they were already sliced and cleaned, I just made the slices a bit thinner and shorter for the recipe. I julienned the already made carrot sticks. Then, I happened to have a fresh pint of mushrooms, I removed 2 big ones, wiped clean with a damp paper towel and sliced about 1/4 inch or so. Onion was next, I have fresh red onions from Ma’s Garden that had to be involved (many recipes call for scallions, but I used what I had with no regrets). Peeled, cleaned and halved. The red onion was sliced thinly and also put on the plate of veggies.

Next, I got out a small bowl and added 2 eggs. A dash of pepper and salt was added before I mixed with a fork. This too, was set on the table next to my wok.

I pull out the bottle of soy sauce and get my wooden utensils ( one with a flat edge and one is a spoon, no recipe secret, just what I have that will not scratch the wok)

Oil….Well, I did wonder why in my research Olive Oil was not mentioned…but peanut, sesame, and vegetable oil were always mentioned. OK, I’d rather use my vegetable oil instead of my expensive alternatives. You only use a couple of TBS anyways….

Now, I check my table to be sure all the ingredients are in place. So, now, I begin to cook!

Recipe yields about 4-6 servings or 6 cups total prepared Fried Rice

Ingredients:

1/2cup each of Yellow, Green, and Red sweet pepper sliced about 2″/ 1/4″ (substitute with what is available)
1/3 cup frozen peas (set in a small bowl and let defrost a bit)
1 whole large carrot juilenned into 1 1/2 inch pieces (about 3/4 cup)
2 large white mushrooms sliced (about 1/3 cup)
4 Cups cooked and cooled rice
2 eggs lightly mixed and seasoned with salt and pepper
Soy Sauce (about 2 TBS to taste)
2-3 TBS high temperature oil (vegetable oil works fine)

Heat electric wok to highest setting, add about 1 1/2 TBS oil. When just beginning to smoke slightly, add carrots, stir and cook about 30 seconds. Add peppers, cook about a minute more stirring constantly. Add Mushrooms, cook another minute and remove vegetables to a bowl.

Add more oil if needed, pour in eggs, softly folding. Remove when done but still moist…make sure they are chopped up into small pieces.

Add remaining oil if needed, then the rice and onions. Let sit for 2 minutes or so, breaking up any clumps. Toss and keep frying to get rice a bit crispy. This may take 6-8 minutes with occasional tossing. Add bowl of vegetables and eggs. Add Soy sauce around the pan, about 2 TBS. Toss until all is hot, remove to serving dish and serve immediately. Leftovers are wonderful for lunch the next day.

8 responses to “Easy Vegtable Fried Rice

  1. that looks very yummy!!!

  2. I love woks. They can be use for so many things and great for deep frying things the bigger the woks are.

  3. Thanks Jerri! Germany, I havn’t used it to deep fry yet, but I see my grocery store has chicken wings on sale this week, I may have to give it a whirl!

  4. Sheri I would like to share this link with you. I am not into deep fry food that much but I do cook it now and then:)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fried_dough_foods

    This is one that I have made with my mother and law call Berliner. It is really good. The only way to make them is to deep fry them which piss me off. Because I have mental problem that I am drinking all the oil while eating this delicious tasty. So I only can enjoy one and not my 3 before I knew how it was made:( Sometime I think it is not good to know what is in everything or how everything is made, lol
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berliner_(pastry)

  5. This looks great! Good colors, good versatility. Did you bring the rice back up to room temp before cooking or start with it when it was still cold? Did it work?

  6. Karynanntomlinson, I did have the rice out for about 10 min and made sure to break it up again before adding. I’m not sure if it was nessary, but I was still setting up anyways….the rice was wonderful! Not sticky (I struggle with sticky rice sometimes) I had about 3 cups of leftovers I had intended to experiment with for comparison, but my 14 yr old got to it before I could…I will make this again as it was a healthy dinner, well received by the family and it made for a wonderful lunch at work! Thanks for your comments and…Happy Cookin!

  7. Mmmm, I love fried rice, and I love your step-by-step instructions. Thank you for sharing! I sometimes find adding minced ginger before adding the veggies gives a really nice flavour, but obviously it is not necessary. I am going to try your version for dinner this weekend.

    • thesaltedtomato, thanks for the compliment! I have really gotten the hang of using my new electric wok and am finding that I use many of my leftover veggies in a quick stirfry lately. Oh how I am enjoying using fresh ginger these days! I put it in the freezer to keep longer, take off a bit for my dish. Amazing what a great flavor it adds!

Leave a Reply

