Macaroni and Cheese Soup with Bacon – Kids in the Kitchen


Courtesy of Caleb, future independant man who can cook for himself. Note: I'm still working on cleaning up after himself!

Tonight, after his first dinner, Caleb was hungry again. My growing 4 year old insisted he wanted a soup, so we searched the cupboards for something to his liking.

Lately, I have really concentrated on letting my boys really be a part of our meal making. We’ve had failures, such as Cody’s idea of making one giant pancake with all of the batter, and some great success too. Tonight, my 4 yr old, Caleb is the star.

Macaroni and cheese soup with bacon. Ummm, well, it’s a winner right away!

Note, he gobbled it up right away and is now in Carb-Coma!

Ingredients:

1 Can Cambells Cheddar cheese soup
2 Cups cooked Macaroni
1 Can milk
2 splashes of chicken broth to thin
2 TBS real bacon bits plus some for garnish
Salt and pepper to a 4yr old’s taste

Combine all ingredients until hot. Pour into bowl. Have a wrestling match while soup cools, eat like crazy and then take a bath!

5 responses to “Macaroni and Cheese Soup with Bacon – Kids in the Kitchen

  1. 2 thumbs up for Caleb.
    Lol, loving the ending result:)

  2. He is so proud of this recipe, he went to pre-school the next day and bragged to his buddies and Miss Ann about his soup!

  3. Well he should be proud, it was invention that turn out good! I think you have just found your little assistance to help you cook for time to time Sherri. World watch out because Caleb is stirring up something in the kitchen and it is going to be good!!!

  4. Wow – you and I have very similar focuses in life and in our blogs – and this soup looks like a hands-down winner with my little one! My oldest won’t eat most things (something I don’t discuss in my blog because it’s too hard to believe and not relevant to normal people) but I just keep cooking for his brother and hope he’ll change his mind someday. Anyway, great blog. I’ll definitely be back!

  5. Frazzledfoodie, thanks for your compliments. Your blog had caught my eye, as I saw similarities in our vision. When I first started my blog, it was to share my journey with cooking and food, now I’m begining to realize how much of a family unit is surrounded with our dining memories, times in the kitchen and exploring together. I’m finding that more than just recipes are being shared, but so are the stories of our lives…Happy Cookin!

Leave a Reply

