Roasted Tomato and Green Pepper Pasta Sauce


Once you've made this sauce, you'll never go back to the jar again!

  

Oh how the bounty of fresh produce keeps spilling over into my kitchen. I was given a bag of fresh Roma tomatoes, Cherry Tomatoes and some Green Peppers at work yesterday fresh from her garden. Oh how happy I am! Every since I made my Creamy Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup I have been eager to use my new-found roasting method in a pasta sauce. I saw a recipe on a co-bloggers post that has really inspired me, Two Guys with an Appetite, I encourage you to visit as they have some great ideas too! This is how I made my Roasted Tomato and Green Pepper Pasta Sauce.  

Please note: If you are trying to increase your and your childrens vegetable intake, this is the sauce for you! Hidden carrots, less salt and no sugar, and no preservatives make this a wonderful recipe for your family. Please consider making a double batch as this freezes very well!  

Recipe yeilds about 3 Cups Sauce  

 4-6 servings of pasta and sauce  

Ingredients  

7-8 Roma Tomatoes halved and not seeded
1 pint of cherry tomatoes halved
1 med-large red onion peeled and cut into chunks
2 Sweet Green Peppers seeded and cut into chunks
5 Garlic cloves peeled
2 Carrots peeled and sliced about 3/4 inch
1/3 cup quality EVOO
1 tsp dried Oregano
1 tsp dried Basil
Sea salt and Pepper to taste  

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees  

Place all veggies and Garlic onto a large jelly roll pan. Pour EVOO all over and add seasoning. Toss to coat with your hands (your best kitchen tools). Turn Roma tomatoes cut side up and roast in oven for about an hour. Turn garlic and onions about 3/4 way through cooking time.  Remove from oven and let cool for about 15 minutes. Add all ingredients to a food processor and blend on high until you have a chunky sauce. Add a bit of EVOO if desired. Sauce should be thick, not watery.  Add to a medium sauce pan and simmer on low until hot again, serve over your favorite cooked pasta and toasted Italian Bread from Jimmy John’s. They sell a whole loaf of their bread for only $.27 out the door! Brush with a little EVOO, Sea Salt, Fresh Ground Pepper , toast in a 350 degree oven for 8 minutes, turn and finish toasting for about another 8 minutes. For a garlic toast, rub, while still hot with a peeled garlic clove.

10 responses to “Roasted Tomato and Green Pepper Pasta Sauce

  1. I like how you use all the fresh fruits giving to you.
    May I ask you what is the difference with red onions and white onions? Do they have different taste. I never use any onion beside the white onions because that is what I am use for plus I don’t know if they taste different because of their coloring. So just out of curiosity are they only different because of their color or also by their taste?

    • In my recipes, red or yellow or Vidalia onions may be used. Red onions are slightly milder and sweeter. The difference is very subtle and in the case of roasting….any onion may be used. Red onions are my personal preference in many dishes and are also often used if being served raw. I love their color, but all onions roasted will become sweet, just as in carmalization. There is a subtle difference but all said and done….dont go on a date eating onions unless your partner is too! LOL…Hope this helps! Happy Cookin!

  2. It does thanks Sherri. My mind is always curious about different things. Since I been cooking more and exploring different meals/dishes I been wondering what is the difference of many things. Like last month I learn the difference of white pepper and black pepper. Heck I did not even know white pepper exist, lol, until last month. But this is good for me to know the difference of the two onions:) Learning something new everyday and just loving it!
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. You are a student of ingredients just as I am, Startingovergermany, I am intrigued, I taste them alone, I research them and then play…I’ve tasted all raw herbs, vinegars, oils…even spices. Oh how fun the journey of food really is!

  4. I made a big pot of your pasta sauce today, to sample out to customers at our Co-op tomorrow – it was super easy to make (I didn’t use Roma tomatoes or dried basil, as we have beautiful local tomatoes and fresh basil in stock right now!) and I can’t wait to share it with everyone! I’ll include a link to your blog – hope that is all cool with you! Normally I check with the blogger ahead of time…but know that in the NW corner of WA state many people will be sampling your delicious recipe tomorrow!

  5. Melissa, I am so happy you are sharing this recipe! I have just made a triple batch yesterday and froze as my mom brought over so many fresh tomatoes and basil from her garden, not to mention her garden grown garlic and onions! I didn’t forget to include a couple of her carrots for added vitamins and thier sweetness! Hello from Michigan to Washington! Happy Cookin!

  6. Melissa, I want to add in hindsight, that if you are using larger tomatoes, you want to seed them before roasting as you will end up with lots of seeds and an unappealing texture….I know as I’ve learned this by error!

    • Thanks for the tip Sheri – I’ll be posting tomorrow on how it all went! I am just going to serve it with some fresh french bread – pasta is too difficult to keep warm without it getting mushy!

  7. Pingback: Roasted Tomato and Pepper Pasta Sauce « Sassy Sampler

  8. Pingback: Why? Fresh Fork! | Why CLE?

Leave a Reply

