Creamy Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup


It’s that time of year here in Michigan, seems there are more tomatoes than one can use fast enough. BLT’s, Salsa’s and Salads are often staples on your menu if you too, are blessed with the abundance of our seasonal produce. But what do you if your garden is still bursting or your counters are full with ripe tomatoes begging to be part of your next meal. Short of canning (a task that does not appeal to me), I’m quickly running out of ideas. As I was visiting other blogs I ran across a recipe I couldn’t wait to try! Inspired by another co-blogger’s post, Roasted Tomato Soup. I decided that fresh basil from Ma’s Garden must be a Co-star to what is now, my very favorite soup to compliment my grilled cheese

Share with me, your favorite tomato recipes, I would love to hear your input or suggestions, as I’m sure there will more from the garden soon!

Ingredients:

4-5 large ripe tomatoes (about 4 1/2 lbs) halved and seeded
1 large Vidalia onion peeled and cut into chunks
3 garlic cloves peeled
1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
4 cups chicken broth
1 cup heavy cream
EVOO
Salt and pepper to taste

On a large baking sheet, place halved and seeded tomatoes, onions and garlic. Pour about 2 TBS EVOO over the top, salt and pepper lightly. Toss and bake at 350 degrees for about an hour. Turn onions and garlic about 2/3 way through cooking time. Remove pan from oven and let tomatoes cool. Carefully, peel skins from tomatoes right on the cookie sheet so not to lose any juices. Roughly chop tomatoes removing the top piece where the stem was. Pour all contents of baking sheet into a stock pot with chicken broth. Bring to a low boil then turn back heat and simmer for about 20 minutes. Add chopped basil and cook an additional 10 minutes. With an emulsion blender, very carefully blend until smooth. If you do not have an emulsion blender, do small batches in a blender. Be sure to let liquid cool first. Reheat in stock pot on low, slowly stir in heavy cream, simmer for another 10 minutes careful not to bring to a boil.

Serve with toasted bread and freshly grated parmesan cheese if desired.

5 responses to “Creamy Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup

  1. I see that your from my old town “Michigan” I miss home.
    I like your recipe it is easy to make with ingredients easy to find!

    • Thank you for visiting startingoveringermany. Funny, as my Father enjoyed my soup tonight and dessert of Orange Cream Cheesecake, he remarked what he misses about his many trips to Germany is their wonderful desserts…this was said as a compliment to my cake…..so glad you’ve visited and I hope to hear from you soon! I too, enjoyed your blog and have posted a comment…Cheers to new friends!

  2. Your welcome, easy ingredients that I can find and seem simple to make always attract me:) You mention Orange Cream Cheesecake? I have to now search through to see if you have that ingredient on here. I am not much of an orange person but if orange can be added I am sure pear and peaches can too.
    Lol, your father is right. Germany to me is a sweet tooth country. The food is so cheap here…so I get to experiment in the kitchen, lol, and the desserts my goodness they have so many. Perhaps too because they have Tea Time over here and every day at Tea Time there are some type of cake or dessert to make. The women here really pride themselves on their dessert.
    Well I am sold. I plan to subscribe to your blog so that I don’t miss anything. I see you around Sherri…it is always cool to have a new friend especially when you find out that they are down to earth or crazy as oneself:)

  3. Hi Sheri,
    Thank you for your kind comments and your visit to Main St. Cuisine. I’ve been travelling recently and have been neglecting my blog miserably. Thank you again and I’m clicking over to your post on Orange Creme Cheesecake (sounds amazing). I’ll be checking back often!!

    • You are very welcome Mainstcuisine! The Orange Cream Cheesecake is a true original, took me about 2 weeks to figure out. I have since had others make the recipe with wonderful results! I, too, will be visiting you to see what inspiring idea’s you come up with! Happy Cookin!

Leave a Reply

