Pulled Pork BBQ


I’ve watched the Food Networks BBQ competitions many times and many other of their famous chefs making Pulled Pork BBQ. Their methods and techniques are practiced for many years and appear complex. I drool as I watch them pull apart the juicy Pork with its crusty edges and then pour their homemade sauce with ingredients such as apple cider, brown sugar, honey, spices, garlic and others that they keep secret. I have pondered attempting this seemingly daunting task of smoking a pork shoulder slathered in rub and mopped in sauce, but I, the common cook do not have the hours to spend over a smoker, nor, do I have a large enough grill to attempt. Not to mention, I’d be terrified that I would dry out my whole Pork shoulder, thus leaving me with serving grilled cheese and canned soup for dinner (though that is also a family favorite).

After much thinking and a bit of research, I am happy to say, I have found a way to deliver a manageable recipe for the common cook with all the flavors of the professionals, complete with your own homemade BBQ sauce!

Ingredients:

4-5 lb pork shoulder
4-5 TBS McCormick Grill Mates Pork Rub (this has brown sugar, chili pepper, red pepper, onion and apple cider vinegar already in the rub)
2-3 tsp EVOO

I have an electric roaster that my Grandma purchased for me over 10 years ago from QVC that has also doubled as my crock pot that I use weekly! I spray with cooking spray and preheat it to 400 degrees for searing my Pork. Earlier, I had removed my Pork shoulder from the refrigerator to take the chill off from it (about 20 minutes) Rub the meat with EVOO, coating all sides. Then, generously massage in McCormick Grill Mates Pork Rub all over. Let meat sit for a few minutes while the roaster heats up. Then, place Pork into roaster to sear for about 5 minutes, turning to brown the other side. Lower heat to 300 and cook for about 4 hours covered until meat is falling apart. If you do not have an electric roaster, use a covered roasting pan in the oven. First, brown meat in a large heavy skillet, making a sweet crust on the outside. After the first couple of hours, add a cup or two of water if needed to keep meat moist, but there is usually enough juice from the Pork Shoulder to keep it happy. When pork is falling apart. Carefully remove from pan and let rest. Meanwhile, prepare your BBQ Sauce.

Ingredients for BBQ Sauce:

1 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
1/3 cup Brown sugar
Pan drippings (plus water if needed) to make 1/4 cup
1 TBS diced garlic (I used the jarred kind already diced)
1/4 cup mustard ( I prefer the brown)
1/4 cup ketchup
1 Tsp McCormick Grill Mates Pork Rub
Fresh Ground pepper to taste.

Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized saucepan and bring to a low boil, using a wire whisk to dissolve sugar and make into a smooth sauce. Keep stirring occasionally mixture will begin to thicken 5-7 minutes. It should be the consistency of a cream soup (tomato soup for example), not as thick as your store-bought BBQ sauce. Add water if needed to thin or cook a bit longer if you need it to thicken more. Meanwhile, shred your meat using 2 forks (discarding any large portions of fat if needed). Put meat into bowl and pour BBQ sauce over. Place in your favorite grilled Kaiser roll or bun and enjoy!

4 responses to “Pulled Pork BBQ

  1. This sounds awesome – my pork shoulder is browning now! Can’t wait for dinner time!
    MA

  2. You’ll have to let me know how you like it! We ended up eating every bit of our pulled pork, I was pleased at how much the boys loved it, no leftovers here!

  3. Melanie Robinson

    Just found your recipe, this sounds delicious! Any idea of how many people this would feed?

    • This Recipe would make about 14+ Large Sandwiches, double if feeding a crowd. Thanks for stopping by, this reminds me, I have a shoulder in the freezer, we haven’t had these in quite a while!

Leave a Reply

