Mango Salsa


Mangos. I’ve looked at these tropical creatures for quite a while, wondering exactly what to do with them. I’ve had drinks and smoothies that claim to have Mango juice. They were to my liking, but what does one do, once these foreign fruits make it into your kitchen. I admit, the first two I ever brought home were a bit firm…they sat on my kitchen counter for 2 days to ripen. I would occasionally pass by them, curious, what was I going to make with my adventurous purchase. At one point, I did consider just making a simple smoothie and calling it good. After a bit of research on the web, I decided to get brave and make a salsa…thus leading to my first and very successful Chili lime Salmon with Mango Salsa. After what I consider a food milestone, I have bought many more of these delicious Mangos as they have been a very good price this summer and have this amazing ability to make your basic grilled chicken, fruit salad or salsa exotic, and tend to impress company. For my son’s 14th birthday party, I have decided to exploit my new favorite salsa served simply with chips. His dad has grown some pretty impressive jalapeno peppers this year, so why not showcase them and let him enjoy the lime-light as his nurtured produce is so impressively presented.

The following recipe yields approximately 3 1/2 cups of prepared Salsa.

Ingredients

2 ripe med-large mango peeled and diced
1/2 med red onion ( about 1 cup diced)
1 Jalapeno seeded and diced
1/3 cup loosely chopped cilantro (I use kitchen scissors to cut in small pieces)
Juice of 1 Lime (put in microwave for 10 seconds for ultimate juice)
Salt to taste

2 responses to “Mango Salsa

  1. This is the one I’ve been waiting for. I want to try this one soon. How do you think it would be served with our fresh panfish?

  2. I think it will be wonderful with fresh fish! Look up my Chilli Lime Salmon, the seasoning makes an amazing crust on the fish that is complimented by the Mango Salsa. I know you are not a fan of Cilantro, omit it from half the Salsa for you and add to the other half for Dad. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

