Salmon Croquettes with a Sour Cream and Cilantro Sauce


So, what do you make when the Cilantro from Ma’s Garden is fresh, you have a couple of limes and a can of Salmon? Salmon Croquettes with a Sour Cream and Cilantro Sauce of course! Tonight I wanted something quick and healthy but didn’t want the fresh cilantro to get overlooked. An inventory of my refrigerator and cupboard began my first journey at making salmon croquettes (or patties as I’ve heard them called) Using Cilantro and lime gave this dish a southwestern feel and the sour cream was a perfect compliment on this hot summer evening.

1 can salmon
2 scallions
2 cloves garlic
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 limes (zest and juice of 1 and the other for serving)
1 cup crushed saltines
1 egg
a few dashes of hot sauce
1/2 cup fat-free sour cream
1/2 cup fat-free mayonaise
salt and pepper to taste
4 TBS olive oil for frying

To make Sour Cream and Cilantro Sauce

Finely chop 1 scallion, 1 clove of garlic, add 2 TBS chopped cilantro and a few dashes hot sauce to sour cream and Mayonaise. Salt and pepper to taste. Set aside in refrigerator while moving on to the Croquettes.

The Croquettes

I a medium mixing bowl, add the other chopped scallion, garlic clove, zest of 1 lime, juice of 1 lime, can of salmon, a few splashes of hot sauce, crackers and a beaten egg. Mix all ingredients together by hand. If mixture feels too wet, add more crackers. Shape into little patties and fry in pan with heated olive oil. Cook until golden brown and then flip. About 3-4 minutes each side. Place on paper towel to absorb any excess oil.

Serve with lime wedges and Sour Cream and Cilantro Sauce. Makes 6-8 Croquettes

2 responses to “Salmon Croquettes with a Sour Cream and Cilantro Sauce

  1. I have only purchased canned salmon once and was kind of turned off by the bones. This looks super yummy and I love the sound of the cilantro sauce. Do you just pick the bones out of the salmon? This will definitely be on the menu next week at my house. Thanks Sheri!
    MA

  2. This is only my second time working with canned salmon. I keep seeing it on the cooking network, so tried again. I too, am challenged with the bones. When flaking my fish by hand, I removed the obvious pieces, although, I do know they are soft and edible and contain much calcium. I will suggest using a mixture of mayonaise and sour cream, as I did find that the lime with just sour cream can seem a bit on the bitter side. Good luck and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

