Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls with Maple Cream Cheese Icing


Come to Mamma!

Fall is here and so is the canned pumpkin. My grocery store had it on sale for only a dollar, so the thrifty shopper I am, stocked up! As I stacked the cans in my pantry I delightfully pondered the recipe possibilities.

There were the obvious options of pumpkin pie, pumpkin cheesecake, muffins and bread, but then it occurred to me! Why not pumpkin cinnamon rolls! The project began. I went to my trusty internet and found that other home cooks have shared my thoughts. So began the exciting process of my first cinnamon rolls from scratch and Pumpkin would be the star!

Remember that bread machine long forgotten in the back of the cupboard? Get it out, as it’s going to be your best friend. You are going to use the dough setting to make this recipe so much easier!

Ingredients for dough:

1/4 cup warm water (about 110 degrees)

2 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast

1/3 cup warm milk

1 egg beaten

3/4 cup canned pumpkin

1 TBS melted butter

3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg

Set bread machine to dough cycle, and dump the above ingredients in machine, start and forget about it! The dough cycle will mix, knead, and bring you through the first rise. Meanwhile, begin making the filling and icing.

Ingredients for filling:

1 stick butter at room temp.

2/3 cups white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp fresh ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp allspice

Mix all ingredients together until well blended, set aside.

Ingredients for Maple Cream Cheese Icing:

6 oz cream cheese at room temp.

3 TBS butter (room temp)

1/4 cup Maple Syrup

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 cups powdered sugar

In a medium bowl, mix with electric mixer all ingredients until well blended. Transfer icing to a large ziploc plastic bag (1 gallon size) seal and chill.

When dough cycle is finished, remove dough from bread machine onto a floured surface. With a rolling pin, roll into a rectangle about 9X12. Spread filling mixture over dough (I found that using my hands worked the best) Roll dough from the long side into a log. With a sharp knife, cut into 12 1-inch slices placing into a greased 9×12 baking dish. Cover and let rise again for about 45 min to an hour.  Bake in a 375 degree over for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Remove from oven, let cool slightly. Cut a small hole in the bottom corner of the icing bag and drizzle over the warm rolls.

Enjoy your Ooooeeey-Goooeeey creation warm with your favorite loved ones!

11 responses to “Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls with Maple Cream Cheese Icing

  1. Pumpkin, maple syrup, and cream cheese….what’s not to love? Yummy!!

  2. My guests agreed too, Daisy! The Maple Icing was supposed to go with the pumpkin cupcakes I was making the same day, but I opted to use on the cinnamon rolls instead and then did an Orange Kissed Cream Cheese frosting for the pumpkin cupcakes…what a combo!!

  3. I love your idea of adding pumpkin to cinnamon rolls. I need to look at the recipe again, though, I no longer have a bread machine…and even though I just made a large batch of regular ones I know I need to make this!
    Karen

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Streusel Muffins « Beautiful Disasters

  5. Where have you been, woman? Glad to see you blogging again and with such a great recipe, I think I can forgive you for the long absence. Wow, this is a stunner!

  6. Veronica, you flatter me! Yes, it’s been a while and I have so many recipes still to share, seems the summer months get so busy with the kids! Karen, welcome! Glad to see a new face….Funny you said that about your bread machine as I was about to donate mine until realized it had a dough cycle!

  7. Pingback: OMG It’s Pumpkin « Meeshiesmom's Blog

  8. wow. these must have tasted amazing! did your little ones liked it? I guess so… I am afraid that if I make these rolls I’ll eat one batch right away! and they also look perfectly executed. brava!

  9. Thank you Barbara for your comment! Yes, the boys both LOVED them! Yes, sooo tempting to eat it all, that’s why I always bring leftovers to work…it’s a win-win..Meeshies Mom, I know you can make this by hand…just the normal mixing and kneading then rise, roll, cut 2nd rise in the pan. But I am in love with the idea of using my, almost donated, bread machine. Everytime I visit the local second-hand store for treasures, I have to chuckle at the bread-machine graveyard…mine just barely escaped!

  10. I feel like buying these at a Cinnabon is a big nono…but if yo make them yourself its a different story right???? I will def try these out.

  11. Grantbraswell, I’ve since made these 3 times, always a hit! Let me know how you like them. Thanks for stopping by, I was on your blog earlier :) Doing good Chef!

Leave a Reply

